NSC expo
Subscribe or Register
View Cart  

Earn recertification points from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals by taking a quiz about this issue.

What's Your Opinion?

Should all workers have the right to earn paid sick leave?

Take the poll and add your comment.

Vote   Results


 

Does your CEO 'Get it?'

Tell us why on the submission form and your CEO could appear among the 2017 selections.

Get the news that's
important to you.

Sign up for Safety+Health’s free monthly newsletters on:

  • Construction
  • Health Care Workers
  • Manufacturing
  • Mining, Oil and Gas
  • Office Safety Tips
  • Transportation
  • Worker Health and Wellness
  • Subscribe today

    Wyoming seeks to increase state OSHA penalties

    February 25, 2010

    Tags
    • / Print
    • Reprints
    • Text Size:
      A A

    A newly introduced bill in Wyoming would increase penalties for workplace violations under the state's occupational safety and health program.

    House Bill 0093 (.pdf file), introduced earlier this month, would increase fines and civil penalties to the same amount currently proposed at the federal level as part of the Protecting America's Workers Act (S. 1580).

    Among the proposed changes:

    • Increase willful violations to a minimum of $8,000 from $5,000, and a maximum of $120,000 from $70,000.
    • Serious violations would be fined $12,000 instead of the current $7,000.
    • Any willful violation that results in the death of a worker would receive a penalty amount of no more than $250,000 and no less than $50,000.


    Post a comment to this article

    Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy.