NSC expo
Subscribe or Register
View Cart  

Earn recertification points from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals by taking a quiz about this issue.

What's Your Opinion?

Should employers' injury and illness data be made public?

Take the poll and add your comment.

Vote   Results


 

Does your CEO 'Get it?'

Tell us why on the submission form and your CEO could appear among the 2017 selections.

Get the news that's
important to you.

Sign up for Safety+Health’s free monthly newsletters on:

  • Construction
  • Health Care Workers
  • Manufacturing
  • Mining, Oil and Gas
  • Office Safety Tips
  • Transportation
  • Worker Health and Wellness
  • Subscribe today

    More states pass laws banning texting while driving

    July 8, 2010

    Tags
    • / Print
    • Reprints
    • Text Size:
      A A

    Governors in Delaware, Massachusetts and Louisiana recently signed into law bans on texting while driving.

    Delaware Gov. Jack Markell (D) on July 6 signed a law banning drivers in the state from using handheld cell phones while driving and setting strict penalties for texting behind the wheel. Under the law, the first offense carries a penalty of $50. A second offense carries a fine of $100 to $200. The law goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2011.

    In Massachusetts, Gov. Deval Patrick (D) on July 2 signed a law (.pdf file) that bans texting while driving for all drivers, prohibits junior operators from using cell phones and institutes new license renewal procedures for mature drivers, among other provisions. Under the new law, violators will be fined $100 for texting as a first offense, $250 for a second offense and $500 for a third. The law goes into effect in October.

    On June 17, Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal (R) signed a law that changes a ban on texting while driving by all drivers to a primary offense from a secondary offense. The law also bans drivers 17 and younger from using a cell phone while driving. Drivers caught texting while driving are subject to a $175 fine for a first offense and up to $500 for subsequent offenses. The law goes into effect on Aug. 15.



    Post a comment to this article

    Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy.