NSC expo
Subscribe or Register
View Cart  

Earn recertification points from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals by taking a quiz about this issue.

What's Your Opinion?

During your career as a safety professional, has a worker death ever occurred at your site?

Take the poll and add your comment.

Vote Results

Does your CEO 'Get it?'

Tell us why on the submission form and your CEO could appear among the 2016 selections.

NHTSA begins testing with updated 5-star safety program

October 19, 2011

  • / Print
  • Reprints
  • Text Size:
    A A

Washington – The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has announced it will begin testing cars under its updated 5-star safety ratings program, which now includes tougher crash tests, rollover tests and a single overall safety score for each vehicle.

NHTSA will perform rollover tests on about 92 percent of 2012 model automobiles. The agency reported that 74 vehicles will be rated for the 2012 model year, including 42 passenger cars, 22 sport utility vehicles, eight pickup trucks and two vans.

“By revamping the tests and creating a more rigorous program last year, we raised the bar on safety for all vehicle manufacturers,” Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood said in a press release.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy.