Federal agencies Review committees Mining, oil and gas

Patrick Nakamura named acting chairman of FMSHRC

Washington – President Barack Obama has designated Patrick Nakamura as acting chairman of the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission.

Nakamura has been a member of the commission since 2010, when he was confirmed by the Senate to a six-year term. As a longtime lawyer in Birmingham, AL, Nakamura has more than 20 years of experience in the field of mine safety and health.

Meanwhile, the terms of two commission members – Mary Lu Jordan and Michael Young – expired Aug. 30. Both will provide counsel to the commission pending action on their vacancies, and they will continue to work on special projects for the group, according to a FMSHRC press release.

Commission members will still be able to issue decisions in pending review cases because FMSHRC has a quorum of three members remaining.