Highlights from the 2014 NSC Congress & Expo


NSC awards celebration recognizes safety excellence

During the National Awards Celebration on Sept. 16, the National Safety Council honored several council members for their leadership and dedication to making workplaces, roadways and communities safer.

“You all have such important jobs and are able to impact so many people,” Jeff Woodbury, chairman of the NSC board of directors, said during the ceremony. “It is because of your hard work and continued engagement that we are making our world safer.”

Among the awards presented:

  • The 2014 Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Awards were presented to 10 professional drivers who have driven for a combined 337 years and millions of miles without a preventable collision.
  • Occupational Awards were presented to member organizations that have displayed dedication to employee safety through effective policies and procedures.
  • Seven companies were honored for exemplifying a Corporate Culture of Safety by receiving more than 50 National Safety Council awards.

In addition, the 2014 Class of the NSC Rising Stars of Safety (pictured above) was recognized.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)