Review committees

Long-time OSHRC commissioner Thomasina Rogers retires

Thomasina Rogers

Washington – Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission Chairman Thomasina Rogers retired on April 27.

Rogers is the longest-serving chair and commissioner in OSHRC history, joining the commission in 1998. She has served as chair since May 2009, preceded by stints as acting chair for two months in 2009 and chairman for more than three years during an overlap between the Bill Clinton and George W. Bush administrations.

During her tenure as OSHRC chair, the commission in 2011 resolved the last of the 10 oldest cases on its docket. Her retirement comes after 35 years of serving the federal government in several capacities, including as the legal counsel to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and chair of the Administrative Conference of the United States.

Cynthia Attwood is now serving as acting OSHRC chair. OSHRC has three commissioner positions, all of which are nominated by the president. When reached for comment, an OSHRC spokesperson said no time frame was available as to when someone may be nominated for Rogers’ open commissioner spot.

OSHRC resolves disputes between employers and OSHA regarding citations and penalties. Cases are heard by administrative law judges, and appeals on the judges’ rulings are heard by the OSHRC commissioners.