Highlights: 2015 NSC Congress & Expo


NSC recognizes 6 safety pros with Distinguished Service to Safety Awards

Each year, the Distinguished Service to Safety Award is given to individuals who have dedicated their careers to improving worker safety within their industries.

NSC Division members, the council board and executive staff can nominate safety professionals for the award. The 2015 recipients are:

Business and Industry Division: Michael Wahl, manager at Lowe’s Home Improvement, has demonstrated his ability to significantly reduce workplace injuries by influencing upper management and supporting divisions, as well as focusing on high-frequency and severity injury types and measuring statistical results.

Campbell Institute: Rich Widdowson, retired, past vice president, safety and environment at Schneider-Electric, directed the safety and environmental efforts at the organization for the North America division – which employs nearly 33,000 workers – for more than 20 years.

Construction Division: Julie Carter, director, environmental safety and health for Roy Anderson Corp., has worked in many industries, including marine, heavy highway, power generation and general building construction. Her mission has been to develop safety culture via teaching, coaching and empowering workers to live safely.

Labor Division: Mark Johnson is the safety and health director for TWU, Local 513. He has provided union safety representatives with the technical information, support and overall direction necessary to develop strong safety and health programs.

The Transportation Division has two honorees for 2015: Michael Cobb and Joseph Mokrisky.

Cobb is vice president, safety and compliance, for Landstar Transportation Logistics Inc. He has spent 22 years working to promote safety and health in the transportation industry. Safety initiatives he implemented at Landstar have helped to significantly reduce crashes.

Mokrisky, president of Capital Motor Carrier Compliance, has worked to establish safety initiatives to reduce preventable injuries and deaths in the commercial motor vehicle field. He started his career as a truck driver more than 30 years ago.

Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award presented to former Labor Division chair

George Kuers of Dorchester, MA, has received the National Safety Council Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes an NSC member who has made significant contributions to safety, health or the environment through participation in an NSC Division or one of its sections or committees.

Kuers has been active with NSC since 1984. He became the Labor Division chairman in 2006 after serving as its vice chairman in 2005. Kuers also has served on the NSC Board of Delegates and the Labor Division Nominating Committee.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)