Show Daily

NSC recognizes seven safety pros with Distinguished Service to Safety Award

congress pic

Anaheim, CA – The National Safety Council presented seven individuals with the agency’s most prestigious award for safety professionals during the Opening Session of the 2016 NSC Congress and Expo.

NSC Divisions members, the NSC board and executive staff can nominate safety professionals for the Distinguished Service to Safety Award, presented annually to those who have devoted their careers to improving safety and health at work, on the roads, and in homes and communities.

The award was first presented in 1942 to recognize individuals and companies that strived to reduce occupational injuries during World War II.

The 2016 DSSA recipients are:

Fred W. Bonewell
Vice president, enterprise and public safety
CPS Energy
San Antonio, TX
Construction Division

Drew Ellesmere-Jones
DJ Management Solutions, LLC
Eagle, ID
Transportation Division

Daniel J. Hartwig
General Health & Safety Services Corp.
Punta Gorda, FL
Business and Industry Division

Michael F. Henderek
Retired, past safety programs manager, and NSC Campbell Institute co-founder
ExxonMobil Corp.
Houston, TX
Campbell Institute

Charles Herrier
Occupational safety and health manager
Eastern Oklahoma VA Healthcare System
Muskogee, OK
Government and Public Sector Division

Rick Irwin
Past president, NSC Labor Division
Alliant Energy/IBEW Local 965
La Valle, WI
Labor Division

Melissa Wandall
National Coalition for Safer Roads, The Mark Wandall Foundation
Washington, DC
Community Safety Division

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)