Show Daily

NSC recognizes 5 safety professionals with Distinguished Service to Safety Award


Indianapolis – The National Safety Council honored five individuals with the organization’s most prestigious award for safety professionals on Monday during the Opening Session of the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo.

NSC annually presents the Distinguished Service to Safety Award to those who have dedicated their careers to improving safety and health at work, on the roads, and in homes and communities. NSC Divisions members, the NSC Board of Directors and executive staff can nominate safety professionals for this award.

The 2017 DSSA recipients are:

  • Business and Industry Division:
    Adele L. Abrams
    Law Office of Adele L. Abrams P.C.

  • Community Safety Division:
    Steven Pomponi
    Senior safety consultant
    PSA Financial

  • Construction and Utilities Division:
    Gary Tellish
    Safety manager/training
    Quanta Services

  • Labor Division:
    Twana McFann
    Safety technician
    City of Columbus, Public Utilities

  • Transportation Division:
    John Brodbeck II
    Mississippi Safety Services

“This year’s winners have redefined success for everyone in the safety world,” Deborah A.P. Hersman, president and CEO of NSC, said in a Sept. 25 press release. “Their commitment to safety is truly remarkable and we are honored to shine a spotlight on their achievements.”

The award was first presented in 1942 to recognize individuals and companies that worked to reduce occupational injuries during World War II.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)