A look back at the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo


NSC recognizes 5 safety professionals with the Distinguished Service to Safety Award

The National Safety Council honored five individuals with its most prestigious award for safety professionals Sept. 25 during the Opening Session of the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo in Indianapolis.

NSC annually presents the Distinguished Service to Safety Award to people who have dedicated their careers to improving safety and health at work, on the roads, and in homes and communities. NSC Divisions members, the NSC Board of Directors and executive staff can nominate safety professionals for this award.

“This year’s winners have redefined success for everyone in the safety world,” Deborah A.P. Hersman, president and CEO of NSC, said in a press release. “Their commitment to safety is truly remarkable and we are honored to shine a spotlight on their achievements.”

The 2017 DSSA recipients are:

Business and Industry Division
Adele L. Abrams
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC

Community Safety Division
Steven Pomponi
Senior safety consultant
PSA Financial

Construction and Utilities Division
Gary Tellish
Safety manager/training

Labor Division
Twana McFann
Safety technician
City of Columbus, Public Utilities

Transportation Division
John Brodbeck II
Mississippi Safety Services

The award was first presented in 1942 to recognize individuals and companies that worked to reduce occupational injuries during World War II. For more information, visit the National Safety Council's website.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)