A look back at the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo


NSC honors safety achievers

The National Safety Council hosted its National Awards Celebration at the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo in Indianapolis. During the Sept. 26 event, NSC honored individuals and organizations that are helping to make roads, communities and workplaces safer.

Distinguished Service to Safety Award – presented to an individual for exemplary lifetime efforts in improving safety and health. (See the list of recepients.)

Rising Stars of Safety – recognizes tomorrow’s leaders, younger than 40, for their commitment to safety, their influence on safety culture and the creation of safety initiatives producing measurable outcomes. Meet the Rising Stars of Safety, Class of 2017.

Marion Martin Award – celebrates the accomplishments of women in the field of safety who have achieved professional excellence and have helped pave the way to success for other women. This year’s recipient is Alexi Carli, vice president of global health and safety at UPS Inc.

Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award – given to professional drivers for their miles and years driven without a preventable crash. Eleven individuals from UPS Inc., Shaw Regional Distribution Center and the U.S. Postal Service were honored this year. See a list of winners.

Occupational Awards – acknowledges the collective safety achievements and implementation of effective safety policies and procedures. Atkins Energy Americas, La-Z-Boy and Tri-City Electric Co. were among the organizations honored. See the full list.

Corporate Culture Award – bestowed upon organizations that have been the recipient of more than 50 awards from the NSC Awards Program. A few of the organizations honored this year were C&W Services, Delphi Automotive, NANA Management Services and Nexteer Automotive.

Community Advancement Award – presented to employers that show a commitment to safety for their employees, families and the communities in which they operate by providing exemplary off-the-job safety and health programs. The 2017 inaugural winner is Buffalo Gap Instrumentation & Electrical Co. Inc. of Taylor County, TX.

For more information on the NSC Awards Program, visit the National Safety Council's website.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)