A look back at the 2018 NSC Congress & Expo

Photo: International Center for the Documentary Arts

‘Several lifetimes of dedication’: NSC honors 6 safety professionals with Distinguished Service to Safety Award


The National Safety Council awarded its highest honor to six safety professionals during the Opening Session on Oct. 22.

The Distinguished Service to Safety Award annually recognizes “exemplary efforts and success in improving safety and health at work, on the road, and in the home and community.” This year’s nominations were gathered from the public and NSC members, then reviewed by the council’s Division committees.

The recipients:

Mack Cowan Jr.
Scientific Director
Texas Breath Alcohol 
 Testing Program
Texas Department of Public Safety

Brian L. Fielkow
Jetco Delivery

Glenn A. Murray
Senior Fellow
The Campbell Institute

Tim Page-Bottorff
Senior Safety Consultant

Senior Master Sgt. Leubinka Romero
55th Wing Safety Directorate
Offutt Air Force Base, NE

Dave Trumble
Vice President
Grey Bruce Labour Council

The award was first presented in 1942 to recognize individuals and companies that worked to reduce occupational injuries during World War II. For more information, go to the NSC.org website.

Linda F. Martin receives Marion Martin Award

Linda F. Martin is the recipient of the 2018 Marion Martin Award, presented annually by the National Safety Council Women’s Caucus to honor the professional achievements of women in safety. Martin received the award Oct. 22.

Martin is the corporate safety director at Bay Crane and a principal industrial hygienist at her own consulting firm, KLME Martin Associates. She also is a faculty member and course curriculum designer at Columbia Southern University, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and Keene State College.

Adding to her lengthy and multifaceted résumé, Martin is the president of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals’ board of directors and a doctoral student in safety sciences at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Martin has more than 25 years of experience in the environmental, health and safety field, working primarily in construction, general industry and consulting. Along with her CSP and CIH certifications, she also is a Certified Hazardous Materials Manager and a certified geologist in three states.

“Linda continues to foster and advance other safety professionals,” said Kathy Bernstein, director of volunteers, awards and scholarships at NSC. “She has demonstrated the highest commitment to safety as a global core value in the world of EHS, and in engaging women, young professionals, returning veterans and professionals from other industries to join and advance the field of safety.”

The Marion Martin Award was established in 2016.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)