NSC names scholarship recipients

Photo: Oko_SwanOmurphy/iStockphoto

Itasca, IL — The National Safety Council recently announced that Payton D. Amend and seven other women are the recipients of NSC scholarships.

A Southeast Oklahoma State University graduate, Amend was recognized as the winner of the 2020 Billy D. Young Memorial Scholarship – given each year to one student who’s interested in pursuing a career in the utilities industry. Named for the first chair of the NSC Public Utilities Division, the award is worth $2,000. Amend, who graduated in December, majored in occupational safety and health.

Also recognized were the seven recipients of the 2020 Women in Safety Scholarship, which supports women who are pursuing a career in safety and promotes safety as a career path for women studying business or engineering. The winners, who will each receive a $5,000 scholarship that is renewable for up to four years, are:

  • Katrina Fenimore, Central Washington University (safety and health management)
  • Maria C. Kander, University of Cincinnati (environmental and industrial hygiene)
  • Allison Kuhns, San Juan College (AAS occupational safety, certificate occupational safety)
  • Mackenzie Lofland, Oakland University (environmental, health and safety)
  • Allison McClain, Rochester Institute of Technology (EHS)
  • Sudley Perez, Indiana State University (occupational safety management)
  • Rubi Ramirez, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences (public health)

The council intends to honor the recipients in person in October during the NSC Safety Congress & Expo in Orlando, FL.

“While we can’t celebrate these aspiring safety professionals in person just yet, we are honored to award these scholarships virtually,” said Tracey Scruggs, awards and scholarship manager at NSC. “We look forward to seeing their success in their studies and beyond as future safety professionals.”

NSC is accepting applications for both scholarships for 2021 through March 31. The council plans to honor this year’s recipients in Orlando as well.