Federal agencies Transportation

Hersman sworn in for third term as NTSB chairman

Washington – Deborah Hersman was sworn in on Oct. 21 for her third term as National Transportation Safety Board chairman.

Hersman was nominated for a third term by President Barack Obama on Aug. 1 and confirmed by the Senate on Oct. 16. She was first appointed as a board member in 2004 by President George W. Bush. Her position as chairman expires Oct. 15, 2015.

Also on Oct. 21, Christopher A. Hart was sworn in for his third two-year term as NTSB vice chairman.

NTSB is an independent government agency that investigates major transportation incidents. It makes recommendations to improve transportation safety but cannot implement them.