NSC Construction and Utilities Division news Advisory committees Contractors Federal agencies Construction Construction

DOL announces members of OSHA construction advisory committee

yellow hard hat
Photo: Liudmila Chernetska/iStockphoto

Washington — The Department of Labor recently announced the new roster of members for its Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health.

The 15-member committee advises DOL and OSHA on upcoming standards affecting the construction industry and “the administration of safety and health provisions” in the Construction Safety Act of 1969. Members are appointed by the labor secretary and represent the interests of the public, employers, employees, and state and federal government.

According to a notice published in the May 26 Federal Register, the committee members are: 

Employee representatives:

  • Christina Trahan Cain, North America’s Building Trades Unions (ACCSH chair)
  • Liliana A. Calderon, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers
  • Ryan Papariello, Laborers’ Health and Safety Fund of North America
  • Kenneth G. Seal, International Union of Painters and Allied Trades
  • Robert Seman, International Union of Operating Engineers

Employer representatives:

  • Kevin Cannon, Associated General Contractors of America
  • Matthew Compher, Quanta Services Inc.
  • Michael P. Lawler, Walsh Construction Co.
  • Greg Sizemore, Associated Builders and Contractors
  • Mindy Uber, Skanska USA Building Inc.

Public representatives:

  • Marissa G. Baker, University of Washington
  • Eric D. Fidler, The Manitowoc Co. Inc.

State representatives:

  • Christopher Scott Mabry, North Carolina Department of Labor
  • Charles Stribling, Kentucky Labor Cabinet Department of Workplace Standards

NIOSH’s G. Scott Earnest, whose term is indefinite, remains the federal government representative. All of the other members are set to serve two-year terms that expire May 15, 2025.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)