House, Senate safety committees feature returning members

January 23, 2013

Washington – Many House and Senate members serving on occupational safety and health-related committees will return to their posts in the 113th Congress.

The House Education and the Workforce Committee on Jan. 22 convened its first meeting of the new Congress, during which Reps. John Kline (R-MN) and George Miller (D-CA) returned to their respective roles as chairman and ranking member of the committee. Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI) also returns as the chair to the committee’s Workforce Protections Subcommittee. To replace Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-CA), who retired at the end of the last Congress, Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT) stepped in as the subcommittee’s ranking member.

On the Senate side, Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA) will remain chair of the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee, while Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN) was elected Jan. 22 to serve as the committee’s ranking member.