www.safetyandhealthmagazine.com/articles/more-states-ban-texting-while-driving-3

More states ban texting while driving

May 13, 2010

Five states recently passed laws that prohibit motorists from texting while driving.

All driver bans on texting while driving in Kentucky, Michigan and Wyoming will go into effect in July, and will be primarily enforced.

Wisconsin's new law also will be primarily enforced, but does not go into effect until December. It sets a fine between $20 and $400 for first-time violators, while second-time violators face fines between $200 and $800.

In Alabama, a new law bans novice drivers from texting while driving. Nebraska's new law bans novice drivers from all cell phone use under a secondary law.

According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, 25 states, the District of Columbia and Guam ban texting while driving for all drivers. Twenty states, the District of Columbia and Guam have primary enforcement.

Primary laws allow law enforcement officers to pull over a vehicle if they observe a driver texting. Secondary laws allow officers to ticket for texting while driving only after stopping the motorist for another offense.