Solis appoints members of new whistleblower committee

December 19, 2012

Washington – The inaugural appointees for OSHA’s Whistleblower Protection Advisory Committee were announced Dec. 13.

The 12 voting members and three ad-hoc members were appointed by Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis and will serve a two-year term. Three members represent the public, four represent management, four represent labor and one represents OSHA State Plans. Three non-voting members represent federal agencies. The newly created committee will meet at least twice a year, with its first meeting scheduled for Jan. 29.

WPAC’s purpose is to advise the OSHA administrator on how to improve the fairness, efficiency, effectiveness and transparency of the agency’s Whistleblower Protection Program.