Federal agencies Review committees Leadership

Heather MacDougall sworn in as OSHRC chairman

Heather MacDougall

Heather MacDougall

Washington – Heather MacDougall is the new chair of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, sworn in Aug. 16 after being appointed by President Donald Trump.

MacDougall, the former acting chairman and member of the commission, is the 12th person to occupy the post. Her term is set to expire in April 2023.

MacDougall, of Jupiter, FL, has 20 years of experience representing employers in issues involving labor, employment, and occupational safety and health law. She also was chief legal counsel and special advisor to former OSHRC Chairman W. Scott Railton.

The Senate confirmed MacDougall and James Sullivan, of Philadelphia, as commissioners on Aug. 3. They join Cynthia Attwood, an Obama administration appointee serving her second term, on the three-member commission.

“Each of my colleagues brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to the significant issues before us,” MacDougall said in an Aug. 16 press release. “With a quorum restored and a full complement of commissioners for the first time in over two years, our first order of business is the cases awaiting commission consideration.”

OSHRC is an independent federal agency created by the Occupational Safety and Health Act to rule on disputes of citations or penalties that result from OSHA inspections.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)