Show Daily

NSC Board of Directors welcomes new chairman, eight members


Indianapolis – Mark Vergnano, president and CEO of the Chemours Co., has been elected chairman of the National Safety Council Board of Directors. Vergnano, who succeeds John Surma, retired chairman and CEO of United States Steel Corp., took over as chairman on Sept. 24 following the council’s annual BOD meeting at the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo.

“Fulfilling our mission of eliminating preventable deaths will be challenging, but in Mark, we have a thoughtful leader who has demonstrated his commitment to the goal of zero,” NSC President and CEO Deborah A.P. Hersman said in a Sept. 24 press release. “He truly understands that it will take all of us working together to keep each other safe in workplaces, homes and communities, and on the road.”

Vergnano addressed Congress & Expo attendees Monday morning during the Opening Session, after he accepted the gavel from Surma.

“We unite around the singular goal of zero incidents,” Vergnano said.

NSC also has elected eight new members to serve on its board. They are:

  • Anas Al-Hamwi, M.D., senior director of safety and injury management, Walgreens
  • Patrick Bass, CEO, Thyssenkrupp North America Inc.
  • Laura J. Liddicoat, forensic toxicology consultant
  • Patrick K. Mullen, president and CEO, CB&I
  • Tim O’Toole, chief executive, First Group plc
  • Anne R. Pramaggiore, president and CEO, ComEd
  • Richard G. Sanders, corporate regulatory compliance manager, Quanta Services Inc.
  • Nick Stavropoulos, president and CEO, Pacific Gas and Electric Co.