Show Daily Leadership

‘Several lifetimes of dedication’: NSC honors 6 safety professionals with Distinguished Service to Safety Awards


Houston — The National Safety Council awarded its highest honor to six safety professionals Monday during the Opening Session of the 2018 NSC Congress & Expo.

The Distinguished Service to Safety Award annually recognizes “exemplary efforts and success in improving safety and health at work, on the road, and in the home and community.” This year’s nominations were gathered from the public and NSC members, and then reviewed by NSC Division committees.

The recipients are:

Mack Cowan Jr.
Scientific Director
Texas Breath Alcohol Testing Program
Texas Department of Public Safety

Brian L. Fielkow
Jetco Delivery

Glenn A. Murray
Senior Fellow
Campbell Institute

Tim Page-Bottorff
Senior Safety Consultant

Senior Master Sgt. Leubinka Romero
55th Wing Safety Directorate
Offutt Air Force Base, NE

Dave Trumble
Vice President
Grey Bruce Labour Council

“Our DSSA winners bring several lifetimes of dedication and commitment to safety,” Deborah A.P. Hersman, president and CEO of NSC, said in an Oct. 22 press release. “Honoring their achievements we can set the bar for what’s possible, and inspire others to pursue our shared goal of eliminating preventable deaths.”

The Distinguished Service to Safety Award first was presented in 1942 to honor companies and individuals who worked to reduce occupational injuries.