Show Daily

NSC presents Parsons Corp. with 2019 Robert W. Campbell Award

Campbell winner
From left: Michelle Garner-Janna, executive director of corporate health and safety at Cummins Inc.; Lorraine M. Martin, president and CEO of the National Safety Council; Carey Smith, chief operating officer at Parsons Corp.; and Jerry Wascom, corporate vice president operations excellence, safety, security, health & environment at ExxonMobil Corp., pose with the 2019 Robert W. Campbell Award during the Campbell Award Reception and Gala on Sept. 8 at the NSC 2019 Congress & Expo in San Diego. Smith accepted the award for Parsons.

San Diego — Parsons Corp. is the recipient of the 2019 Robert W. Campbell Award, presented annually by the National Safety Council to an organization that successfully integrates environmental, health and safety management with business operations.

Representatives from Parsons – an international engineering, construction, technical and management services firm headquartered in Centreville, VA – accepted the award Sunday during the Campbell Award Reception and Gala at the NSC 2019 Congress & Expo.

In an interview with Safety+Health, Campbell Institute Senior Program Manager Katherine Smith praised Parsons for its dedication to EHS and providing “amazing organizational transparency” while engaging in widely diversified projects.

“For them, it’s not just about getting the trophy at the end of the day,” Smith said. “It’s about making sure that their people are safe and they’re able to improve based on what they learned throughout this process. The award program is set up to make sure companies get feedback on their management system, which helps us assess them properly as well. The feedback is the true reason they’re engaged with this program, and that’s the kind of company we want to see take part.”

Parsons joins past Campbell Award recipients:

  • 2018: The Boeing Co.
  • 2016: USG Corp.
  • 2015: Honeywell Aerospace
  • 2014: Cummins Inc.
  • 2013: DuPont
  • 2012: Firmenich
  • 2011: UTC Fire & Security
  • 2010: The Dow Chemical Co.
  • 2009: Schneider Electric North America
  • 2008: Fluor Hanford
  • 2008: Gulf Petrochemical Industries Co.
  • 2007: The Bahrain Petroleum Co.
  • 2006: Alcan Inc.
  • 2006: DynMcDermott Petroleum Operations
  • 2005: Johnson & Johnson
  • 2004: Noble Corp.

NSC established the Campbell Award in 2004 to honor safety pioneer Robert W. Campbell, who served as the organization’s first president, beginning in 1913.