2009 CEOs Who 'Get It'

Janet Froetscher

Janet Froetscher
President and CEO
National Safety Council

This is the first year I have engaged with CEOs Who "Get It" as president and CEO of the National Safety Council. I must say, I am impressed. Our 2009 roster of 10 individuals is a mix of company leaders with diverse interests, from luxury transportation and utilities to construction and nuclear power. All share a dedication to employee safety as a primary goal and are cultivating safety leadership at all levels of their organizations. These CEOs emphasize safety around the clock, extending a safety culture to employees' families and homes. 

Our CEOs Who "Get It" support their staffs through extensive safety training. One CEO, George H. Rogers of RQ  Construction, approved the addition of employees at his company to conduct safety courses, and offers training in both English and Spanish. Another CEO, Robert Bellagamba of Concorde Limousine, requires all chauffeurs to take defensive driving classes and also provides courses at reduced rates to employees' families and local civic groups. Neil C. Stubits, Commander of the Naval Surface Warfare Center, Indian Head Division, recently celebrated with his staff 1 million safe onsite work hours. Davis Mullholand of CCI Mechanical supplied his employees with personal protective equipment long before it was required. 

It is my pleasure to highlight these and other safety leaders over the next few pages. Theirs is the type of commitment we need to keep the people we work with, and their loved ones, safer. This is the type of commitment needed to save more lives. CEOs Who "Get It" realize that in our society today, more people are injured at home, in their communities and on the roads than at work. Just as lowering workplace injury rates is partly due to maintaining safe facilities, maintaining low-risk environments in other aspects of employees' lives can keep them safer. One of our CEOs demonstrated his commitment to safety with a particularly moving act. In the wake of the 2005 hurricane season, Andy Studdert of NES Rentals, recognizing the importance of safe settings for his employees, purchased 16 trailer homes for employees to live in until their storm- damaged residences were repaired. I extend my gratitude to all of our 2009 CEOs Who "Get lt." Thank you for the stellar models of safety leadership you provide.

Robert Bellagamba
President, CEO & CFO
Concorde Limousine Inc.

Larry C. Bryant
South Carolina Vocational
Rehabilitation Departent

Dan Fulton
President & CEO
Weyerhaeuser Co.
Operations Co.

James H. Miller
Chairman, President & CEO
PPL Corp.

Davis Mullholand
President & CEO
CCI Mechanical Inc.

George H. Rogers III
President & CEO
RQ Construction Inc.

Vic Staffieri
Chairman, CEO & President
E.On U.S.

Captain Neil C. Stubits
Indian Head Division,
Naval Surface Warfare Center

Andy Studdert
Chairman & CEO
NES Rentals
Operations Co.

Timothy Whitener
Luwa Inc.



Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)