Show Daily

NSC honors 7 safety pros with Distinguished Service to Safety Award


Orlando, FL — Seven safety professionals received the Distinguished Service to Safety Award – the National Safety Council’s highest honor – during the Opening Session of the 2021 NSC Safety Congress & Expo on Oct. 11 at the Orange County Convention Center.

First presented in 1942, the annual award recognizes individuals’ outstanding contributions to the field of safety. This year’s nominations were submitted by the public and NSC members, and then reviewed by NSC Division committees.

The recipients:

Mohamed Abdel-Aty
Pegasus Professor and Chair
University of Central Florida

William Bozzo
General Manager, Training and Safety Services
DEKRA Services

I. David Daniels
President and CEO
ID2 Solutions LLC

Marilyn Huestis
Thomas Jefferson University

Anthony Militello
Director; Environment, Health and Safety; 737 Program; Delivery Operations and Total Quality
The Boeing Co.

David Payton
Regional Director; Environment, Health and Safety
Ericsson Inc.

Frederic Rine
CEO and Founder
FDR Safety LLC

“At NSC, our mission is to eliminate preventable injury and death,” NSC President and CEO Lorraine M. Martin said, “but we can’t achieve this alone. That’s why the Distinguished Service to Safety Award means so much. Whether pioneering safety research or advancing best practices in the workplace, each honoree has helped make our local, national and international communities safer.”

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)