NSC Business and Industry Division news NSC Construction and Utilities Division news NSC Labor Division news Federal agencies

OSHA adds to its roster of Training Institute Education Centers

OSHA logo

Washington — In addition to renewing 25 existing centers for its OSHA Training Institute Education Centers program, OSHA has named the Construction Education Foundation in Denver (Region 8) as a new member of the network.

OTI Education Centers are a national network of non-profit organizations authorized by OSHA to deliver occupational safety and health training for all levels of workers. The centers trained more than 42,000 people in fiscal year 2022, an agency press release states. The program was established in 1992.

The centers also assist with OSHA’s voluntary Outreach Training Program, which trained more than 3 million people from FY 2020 to FY 2022. The agency doesn’t fund the centers. Instead, they’re supported by tuition and fees, and provide instructors and facilities.

OSHA selected the centers via a national competition that “evaluated applicants on organizational commitment, experience and qualifications; staff experience and qualifications; location and training facilities; marketing and administrative capabilities; diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility; and language accessibility.”

The renewed OTI Education Centers:

Region 1

  • Keene State College (Manchester, NH)

Region 2

  • Atlantic OSHA Training Center, a consortium that includes the Rutgers University School of Public Health, Ana G. Méndez University and University at Buffalo (Buffalo, NY)
  • Rochester Institute of Technology (Rochester, NY)

Region 3

  • National Resource Center, a consortium that includes West Virginia University and CPWR – The Center for Construction Research and Training 
  • Mid Atlantic, a consortium that includes the Chesapeake Region Safety Council and Northampton Community College (Bethlehem, PA)

Region 4

  • Eastern Kentucky University (Richmond, KY)
  • University of South Florida (Wesley Chapel, FL)
  • Georgia Institute of Technology (Atlanta)
  • Southeastern OTI Education Center, a consortium that includes North Carolina State University and University of Tennessee (Nashville)
  • University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL)
  • Volunteer State Community College (Gallatin, TN)

Region 5

  • Mid-America OTI Education Center, a consortium that includes the Ohio Valley Construction Education Foundation 
  • Great Lakes OSHA Education Center, a consortium that includes the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Eastern Michigan University and the United Auto Workers Health and Safety Department
  • National Safety Education Center, a consortium that includes Northern Illinois University and the Construction Safety Council

Region 6

  • Texas A&M University Engineering Extension (College Station, TX)
  • University of Texas at Arlington (Arlington, TX)
  • Mid-South OTI Education Center, a consortium that includes the Alliance Safety Council and Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, LA)
  • Oklahoma State University (Stillwater, OK)

Region 7

  • Great Plains OSHA Education Center, a consortium that includes Metropolitan Community College (Independence, MO),  Barton County Community College (Grandview Plaza, KS) and the Saint Louis University College for Public Health and Social Justice 

Region 8

  • Mountain West OSHA Education Center 

Region 9

  • University of California, San Diego 
  • Arizona State University (Tempe, AZ)
  • California State University, Dominguez Hills (Carson, CA)
  • Chabot-Las Positas (Pleasanton, CA)

Region 10

  • University of Washington (Seattle)

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)