2015 NSC Rising Stars of Safety: 'Leaders and innovators'

The National Safety Council presents the Rising Stars of Safety, Class of 2015

Rising Stars of Safety
NSC Rising Stars of Safety

View Rising Stars photos and bios

Deborah A. P. Hersman
President and CEO
National Safety Council

One of the highlights of 2014 was meeting the Rising Stars of Safety at my first National Safety Council Congress & Expo. After spending time with these young professionals, I can tell you that this next generation of safety leaders is active, passionate and ready to make a difference.

This fall in Atlanta, I’ll have a chance to meet with and officially introduce the 2015 class of Rising Stars. With more than 115 nominations to choose from, we will honor the top 40 younger than 40 – representing a variety of professional backgrounds from around the world.

These new Rising Stars are the men and women who promote continuous safety improvement in their organizations. They are the leaders and innovators who are working to build strong safety cultures. As Douglas MacArthur once said, "A true leader has the confidence to stand alone, the courage to make tough decisions, and the compassion to listen to the needs of others." These Rising Stars embody those principles.

Our Rising Stars are an incredible asset to the National Safety Council. The first five classes play a major role in maintaining the Young Professional track at our annual Congress & Expo and populate our very engaged Young Professionals Division. They are the future of safety, and we are excited to tap into their energy and enthusiasm.

Congratulations to this year’s class of NSC Rising Stars of Safety.


Deborah A. P. Hersman
President and CEO, National Safety Council

Rising Stars profiles

Use these links to visit Rising Stars profile pages, or browse profiles using the navigation arrows at the top of each page.

Casey Anderson

Julie Barbaro

Ryan Bast

Robert Bellair

Nathan Benson

Umair Aslam Butt

John Campbell

Thomas Carow

Matthew Clark

Galen Cooter

Marcus Davis

Jennifer Dawson

Jenifer Doyle

Matt Garner

Carolyn Gomez

Muhammad Haider

Jordan Haller

Joshua Hancey

Michael Hawkins

Amanda Horner

David Hunyar

Jennifer Johnson

Peter Kaplan

Aamish Khan

Matthew Ledford

Courtney Lewis

Casey Logue

Valentin Martinez

Theresa McCollom

Adam McCrary

Marcus Odorizzi

Carrie Parman

Laura Pfeifer

Lev Pobirsky

Melanie Prescott

Brandon Robbins

Gillian Roberts

Jennifer Schmaltz

Ryan Williams

Cory Worden

View Rising Stars profiles as they appear in the print edition of Safety+Health.

Join the Young Professionals Division

Are you a safety professional younger than 45? Would you like to network with the top young safety professionals in the world?

Don’t miss your chance to further develop your skills and advance your career in safety leadership at the 2015 NSC Congress & Expo. Members of this group receive access to networking events, professional development opprotunities and exclusive invitations to leadership meetings. Be on the cuttting edge of safety and share your fresh ideas with your peers.

Learn more about how to get involved at nsc.org/ypd.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)