Show Daily

Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award presented to former NSC Labor Division chair

George Kuers of Dorchester, MA, has received the National Safety Council Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award recognizes an NSC member who has made significant contributions to safety, health or the environment through participation in an NSC Division or one of its sections or committees – and who has been a division member in good standing for at least one decade.

Since 1984, Kuers has been active with NSC. He became the Labor Division chairman in 2006 after serving as its vice chairman in 2005. Through the division, he has chaired committees in construction safety, substance abuse and hazardous materials.

In 2008, Kuers received the Edward Eagan Soldier of Safety Award, which honors the legacy of Eagan, a member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 103 union and a well-respected labor liaison with OSHA.

Kuers also has served on the NSC Board of Delegates and the Labor Division Nominating Committee.

Initiated into the Local 103 of IBEW in 1972, Kuers has assisted union members and OSHA with safety training and chaired its safety committee. With the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority in Boston, Kuers currently leads safety training for electricians.