A look back at the 2016 NSC Congress & Expo

Congress wrapup

NSC honors ‘highest achievers in safety’

Seven individuals who have driven a combined 200 years without a preventable incident were honored Oct. 18 during the National Awards Celebration at the 2016 NSC Congress & Expo.

Barry McLarty, of Landstar Inway; James Gentry, of Shaw Industries Inc.; Kenneth Grogan and Ruben Aguayo, of Shaw Regional Distribution Center; and James Eskins, Dean Maag and Gordon Freeman of UPS were among the 80 people recognized at the annual event for their achievements in safety and fostering safe behavior in the workplace.

Additional awards were presented to Daniel Ontengco and James Suchocki, of the U.S. Postal Service, who have driven a combined 81 years without a preventable collision.

Five companies – Delphi Automotive, Flowserve Corp., NANA Management Services LLC, Nexteer Automotive and Schneider Electric – were honored for their corporate culture of safety.

The Iowa-Illinois Safety Council and National Safety Council, Nebraska, received the President’s Award, which recognizes the contributions of an individual or group to NSC’s mission of eliminating preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road.

Also recognized during the ceremony were the seven individuals presented with the Distinguished Service to Safety Award, as well as the NSC Rising Stars of Safety, Class of 2016.

Download a full list of honorees.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)