NSC, NHTSA announce recipients of roadway safety grants

web logo

The National Safety Council, together with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, on March 15 announced the recipients of the Safe System Innovation Grants through the Road to Zero initiative. The grants were awarded to organizations with innovative approaches to making roadways safer and eliminating preventable roadway deaths – the mission of the Road to Zero initiative.

The seven grant recipients are:

  • City of Chicago Vision Zero
  • Los Angeles Police Department Vision Zero
  • National Association of County Engineers
  • National Complete Streets Coalition, Smart Growth America
  • Regents of the University of Michigan (University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute)
  • Roadway Safety Foundation
  • San Francisco Metropolitan Transportation Agency Vision Zero

“Preliminary estimates indicate that we lost as many as 40,000 people last year in motor vehicle crashes, underscoring the need to act urgently,” Deborah A.P. Hersman, president and CEO of NSC, said in a press release. “We had an impressive pool of applicants, but the creativity and carefully considered strategies of the grant recipients set them apart. We look forward to working with them on our shared journey toward zero deaths.”