Resources Federal agencies Guidance

Updated guide outlines OSHA training requirements

OSHA training

Photo: OSHA

Washington – All of OSHA’s training requirements can be found in a newly updated guidance document.

“Training Requirements in OSHA Standards” organizes the requirements into five categories:

  • General industry
  • Maritime
  • Construction
  • Agriculture
  • Federal employee programs

The document includes rules pertaining to emergency planning, confined spaces, welding, eye and face protection, and occupational safety and health committees.

“Training is an essential part of every employer’s safety and health program for protecting workers from injuries and illnesses,” the document states. “Training in the safe way for workers to do their jobs well is an investment that will pay back over and over again in fewer injuries and illnesses, better morale, lower insurance premiums and more.”

In addition to providing the required safety and health training for all OSHA rules, the resource recommends keeping a record of that training.