Show Daily

NSC recognizes 6 safety pros with Distinguished Service to Safety Awards

Congress 2015 DSSA group pic

Atlanta – The National Safety Council presented its most prestigious award for safety professionals to six individuals during the Opening Session of the 2015 NSC Congress and Expo.

Each year, the Distinguished Service to Safety Award is given to those who have dedicated their careers to improving safety by preventing injuries and saving lives within their industries.

NSC division members, the council board and executive staff can nominate safety professionals for the award. The 2015 recipients are:

Business and Industry Division:
Michael Wahl
Store director
Wal-Mart Stores Inc.

Campbell Institute:
Rich Widdowson
Retired, past vice president, safety and environment

Construction Division:
Julie Carter
Director, environmental safety and health
Roy Anderson Corp.

Labor Division:
Mark Johnson
Safety and health director
TWU, Local 513

Transportation Division:
Michael Cobb
Vice president, safety and compliance
Landstar Transportation Logistics Inc.

Joseph M. Mokrisky
Capitol Motor Carrier Compliance

“These award recipients have shown an unwavering dedication to safety throughout their careers,” Deborah A.P. Hersman, NSC president and CEO, said in a press release. “Their efforts have undoubtedly helped make our world safer and inspired the next generation of safety leaders.”

The award was first given out in 1942 to individuals and companies that worked to lower occupational injuries during World War II.