Show Daily

NSC honors highest achievers in safety


Indianapolis – On Tuesday, the National Safety Council hosted its National Awards Celebration at the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo. During the event, NSC honored individuals and organizations that are helping to make roads, communities and workplaces safer.

The awards included:
Distinguished Service to Safety Award – presented to an individual for exemplary lifetime efforts in improving safety and health.
Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award – given to professional drivers for their miles and years driven without a preventable crash.
Occupational Awards – acknowledges the collective safety achievements and implementation of effective safety policies and procedures.
Corporate Culture Award – bestowed upon organizations that have been the recipient of more than 50 awards from the NSC Awards Program.
Rising Stars of Safety – recognizes tomorrow’s leaders, younger than 40, for their commitment to safety, their influence on safety culture and the creation of safety initiatives producing measurable outcomes.
Marion Martin Award – celebrates the accomplishments of women in the field of safety who have achieved professional excellence and have helped pave the way to success for other women in safety.
Community Advancement Award – presented to employers who show a commitment to safety for their employees, families and the communities in which they operate by providing exemplary off-the-job safety and health programs.