Cannabis workers must complete OSHA training, Nevada law says
Carson City, NV — A new Nevada law requires cannabis industry workers to take up to 30 hours of occupational safety and health training.
Signed into law May 25 by Gov. Steve Sisolak (D), S.B. 122 directs supervisors at cannabis establishments to complete the OSHA 30-hour course in general industry safety and health hazard recognition and prevention within one year of being hired, while non-supervisors have one year to complete the OSHA 10-hour course.
Employees hired before July 1 have until July 1, 2022, to successfully complete their required course. Costs for the training must be covered by employers, and the state’s Division of Industrial Relations will establish a registry to track providers of the required courses.
Under the provisions of the legislation, an employer can suspend or terminate an employee who doesn’t comply with the training requirement. Administrative fines can be levied against establishments that violate the law. A first offense will result in a fine of up to $500, followed by a fine of up to $1,000 for a second offense. Each subsequent violation thereafter will be considered a willful violation.
The legislation was sponsored by Sens. Chris Brooks (D) and Patricia Spearman (D), who represent portions of Clark County, which includes Las Vegas.
Post a comment to this article
Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)