Show Daily

NSC names scholarship recipients


The National Safety Council on Monday announced the inaugural recipients of its Diversity in Safety Scholarships, along with the recipients of four other scholarships, during the 2022 NSC Safety Congress & Expo at the San Diego Convention Center.

The Diversity in Safety Scholarship Program annually provides $5,000 to students from diverse backgrounds who are pursuing careers in safety. The inaugural recipients:

  • Ashley Craddock, University of Central Missouri
  • Leila Ruggs, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Garrett Washington, American University
  • Emmanuel Winful, Auburn University

“Diversity in the EHS profession makes everyone safer,” NSC president and CEO Lorraine Martin said. “The National Safety Council envisions building a workforce of environment and occupational, safety and health professionals that is inclusive of all people it represents.”

Karena O’Bryan of Murray State University was awarded the Lorraine Pack Memorial Scholarship, given annually to female students seeking a career in EHS.

Sophia Naugle of Slippery Rock University was named the recipient of the Billy D. Young Memorial Scholarship, awarded each year to a student interested in a career in the utilities industry. The Women in Safety Scholarship winners: Royce L. Bird (Montana Technological University), Olivia Anne Metzger (Columbia Southern University), Callie Ruppen (University of Akron) and Bridget Mya Womack (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater).

David Sawyer (University of Utah) and Ivan Nail Ulloa (Auburn University) won NSC Congress & Expo Scholarships.