House, Senate safety committees feature returning members

Washington – Many House and Senate members serving on occupational safety and health-related committees will return to their posts in the 113th Congress.

The House Education and the Workforce Committee on Jan. 22 convened its first meeting of the new Congress, during which Reps. John Kline (R-MN) and George Miller (D-CA) returned to their respective roles as chairman and ranking member of the committee. Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI) also returns as the chair to the committee’s Workforce Protections Subcommittee. To replace Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-CA), who retired at the end of the last Congress, Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT) stepped in as the subcommittee’s ranking member.

On the Senate side, Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA) will remain chair of the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee, while Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN) was elected Jan. 22 to serve as the committee’s ranking member.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)