Nevada passes ban on cell phone use while driving
Carson City, NV – Gov. Brian Sandoval (R) on June 17 signed a law making Nevada the 34th state to ban texting while driving and the ninth to prohibit all handheld cell phone use while driving.
Effective Jan. 1, 2012, violators of the law will face a fine of up to $100 for the first offense, up to $200 for the second offense and up to $250 for the third offense. Third-time offenders also can have their driver’s license suspended. Law enforcement can begin issuing warnings on Oct. 1.
Post a comment to this article
Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)