Solis appoints members of new whistleblower committee

Washington – The inaugural appointees for OSHA’s Whistleblower Protection Advisory Committee were announced Dec. 13.

The 12 voting members and three ad-hoc members were appointed by Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis and will serve a two-year term. Three members represent the public, four represent management, four represent labor and one represents OSHA State Plans. Three non-voting members represent federal agencies. The newly created committee will meet at least twice a year, with its first meeting scheduled for Jan. 29.

WPAC’s purpose is to advise the OSHA administrator on how to improve the fairness, efficiency, effectiveness and transparency of the agency’s Whistleblower Protection Program.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)