Federal agencies Transportation Leadership

NTSB, DOT nominations clear committee; head to full Senate


Photo: iStock/Thinkstock

Washington – The Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee has approved nominations for several key transportation posts.

Committee members on Feb. 26 voted unanimously in favor of the nominations for Christopher A. Hart as chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board; Tho Bella Dinh-Zarr as an NTSB member; and Carlos A. Monje Jr. as Assistant Secretary of Transportation. Now that the nominations have received committee approval, they will head to the Senate floor for a confirmation vote.

Hart has served as acting chairman of NTSB since the resignation of Deborah A.P. Hersman, who left last year to become president and CEO of the National Safety Council. Dinh-Zarr is the director of the FIA Foundation’s U.S. office and has served in a variety of traffic safety roles. Monje Jr. works for the Department of Transportation as counselor to Secretary Anthony Foxx.