Senate swears in two new NTSB members

Mark R. Rosekind and Earl F. Weener recently became the newest members of the National Transportation Safety Board.

Rosekind was officially sworn in July 12 for a term that will expire Dec. 31, 2014. According to an NTSB press release, Rosekind is an award-winning and internationally recognized fatigue expert. He was president and chief scientist of Alertness Solutions, a scientific consulting firm in Cupertion, CA. He also served as chief of the Aviation Operations Branch in the Flight Management and Human Factors Division at the NASA Ames Research Center, and was director of the Center for Human Sleep Research at the Stanford University Sleep Disorders and Research Center.

Weener will be sworn in June 29. He is a licensed pilot who, according to a press release, "has dedicated his entire career to the field of aviation safety." He was a consultant and fellow for the Flight Safety Foundation, and has held a number of positions for The Boeing Co. Weener's term expires Dec. 31, 2015.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)