Show Daily

NSC honors highest achievers in safety

2016 NSC Natl Awards Celebration

Anaheim, CA – Seven individuals who have driven a combined 200 years without a preventable incident were honored Tuesday night during the National Awards Celebration at the 2016 NSC Congress & Expo.

Barry McLarty, of Landstar Inway; James Gentry, of Shaw Industries Inc.; Kenneth Grogan and Ruben Aguayo, of Shaw Regional Distribution Center; and James Eskins, Dean Maag and Gordon Freeman, of United Parcel Service Inc., were among the 80 people recognized at the annual event for their achievements in safety and fostering safe behavior in the workplace.

Additional Safe Driver Awards were presented to Daniel Ontengco and James Suchocki, of the U.S. Postal Service, who have driven for a combined 81 years without a preventable collision.

Five companies – Delphi Automotive, Flowserve Corp., NANA Management Services LLC, Nexteer Automotive and Schneider Electric – were honored for their corporate culture of safety.

The Iowa-Illinois Safety Council and National Safety Council, Nebraska, received the President’s Award, which recognizes the contributions of an individual or group to NSC’s mission of saving lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads.

Also recognized during the ceremony were the seven individuals presented with the Distinguished Service to Safety Award, as well as the NSC Rising Stars of Safety, Class of 2016.

A full list of honorees can be found at