Show Daily

‘Wall of Stars’ shines at virtual NSC Safety Congress & Expo


Itasca, IL — The National Safety Council is recognizing 60 individuals and seven organizations for their outstanding commitment to safety on its “Wall of Stars,” on display during the virtual NSC Safety Congress & Expo.

The council honored Kent McElhattan, chair and CEO of Pittsburgh-based Discovery Robotics Corp., with its Flame of Life Award. The award is given in recognition of an individual’s or organization’s lifetime achievements in safety and has been presented to only a handful of recipients since NSC was founded in 1913.

Other safety stars spotlighted on the Wall of Stars:

2021 Robert F. Borkenstein Award (Recognizes individuals who, through a lifetime of service, have made outstanding contributions to the field of alcohol- and drug-related traffic safety): Thomas Page, law enforcement consultant

2020 Green Cross for Safety awards (Recognizes a variety of outstanding individuals and organizations working to support the NSC mission to save lives and prevent injuries, from the workplace to anyplace): Save the Michaels of the World, Advocate Award; La-Z-Boy Inc., Excellence Award; The Dow Chemical Co., Innovation Award

2020 Community Advancement Award (presented to entities that are dedicated to safety at work and have committed time and resources to bring safety into the community): Engro Fertilizers Ltd. and Washington River Protection Solutions

2020 Robert W. Campbell Award (recognizes organizations that achieve excellence through the integration of environmental, health and safety management into business operations): The Mosaic Co.

2020 Teen Safety Award (recognizes an individual or organization working to improve teen safety and save lives): Illinois State Toll Highway Authority

2020 Joseph M. Kaplan Award (recognizes outstanding drivers nationwide who have driven a significant number of miles/years without incurring a preventable crash): 17 individuals from five organizations

2020 Rising Stars of Safety (recognizes leaders younger than 40 who are dedicated to making workplaces safer): 32 individuals

The Wall of Stars also highlights the nine 2020 NSC Scholarship Program recipients, including D’Andrea Prim of Oakland University, recipient of the inaugural Lorraine Pack Memorial Scholarship.

Post a comment to this article

Safety+Health welcomes comments that promote respectful dialogue. Please stay on topic. Comments that contain personal attacks, profanity or abusive language – or those aggressively promoting products or services – will be removed. We reserve the right to determine which comments violate our comment policy. (Anonymous comments are welcome; merely skip the “name” field in the comment box. An email address is required but will not be included with your comment.)